Not everyone in the state of California is allowed to carry a weapon for obvious reasons. But if you wish to carry a gun, you will need to know how to get a gun license in California. Along with the permit, you will also receive a Personal Firearms Eligibility Check (PFEC) certificate that you will need to have at all times. If you are found to have a concealed weapon and are stopped by law enforcement, you could face arrest if you are found in possession of a gun and not have the proper documentation. The following list will show you how to get a gun license in California.
Who in the State of California Is Eligible to Receive a Gun License?
According to the California Penal Code 26150 & 26155 you must:
- Be of good moral character. This means that you don’t have any offenses that would deem you a person who could be violent or questionable morals
- Have good cause, such as a threat of violence made against you or a family member
- Meet certain residency requirements as outlined by the state or local jurisdiction
- Complete a firearms training course
- You cannot have been diagnosed with a mental illness or currently addicted to drugs or alcohol.
- You cannot have at anytime lost your gun rights due to a domestic violence charge.
- Must be at least 21 years of age.
What Is the Application Process for Getting a License and Concealed Carry Permit?
California has three phases to the process:
- The first thing you will need to do is fill out a paper application. What ever jurisdiction you reside should submit your application and pay the necessary fee. The fee varies depending on the jurisdiction.
You will then be subject to an extensive interview. The issuing agency will go over a number of subjects including your reason for the license, criminal history and additional information on how to get a gun license in California.
- Your fingerprints will be taken, and on some occasions, a second interview will be requested.
- Psychological examinations are given. This is not the case in all jurisdictions, but some in California require it. If psychological testing is required, the fee is $150.
When Can Your Conceal Carry Be Revoked?
The right to carry is not a right in the state of California, it is a privilege. If you receive a conceal carry license, you are expected to use it responsibly. There are times when you can have your conceal carry license revoked. And if it’s revoked, you may have a hard time getting it reissued. An incident in Sacramento shows how you can get your permit taken away. In a sweep, about 78 people had their licenses revoked. Their offenses ranged from gun crimes to making threats, misusing weapons, DUI, failure to appear and other crimes.
What Required Documents Are Needed?
When you fill an application, you will need the following:
- Birth Certificate.
- A copy of your current drivers license or state issued ID.
- Proof that you reside within the county. In this case, you will need a copy of a utility bill.
- You may need a copy of your military discharge.
- Passport photos.
- Proof of employer if your conceal carry is related to the job.
What Are the Restrictions under the California Conceal Carry Law?
A person obtaining a conceal carry permit should know all of the rules and regulations regarding the laws. A violation could end with you losing your license. It should be understood that only fire arms such as pistols and revolvers are covered under this act. Assault weapons and larger weapons are not.
While some states have reciprocity, others do not. This means that some states will recognize your conceal carry certificate. Individuals who live in California need to check out the conceal carry laws of other states before they go. There may also be issues with the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) regarding having rules and regulations regarding guns on flights. If you plan on carrying a gun on a flight, check with the TSA for more information.
Remember, you must also re-certify for your license. Be sure to do so before it expires. A conceal carry license in the state of California has a number of requirements. Be sure you can meet the requirements on how to get a gun license in California before you apply. There are a number of things in your history that could hold you up or disqualify completely. When you have a conceal carry license, it must be respected. There are many things that can get you in hot water. Understand your responsibilities as it relates to how to get a gun license in California.